Dedication

Image
Dear Abby,

I was hesitant to get you at first being that I have no idea how to raise a dog much less be around one. I was terrified in the thought that I could possibly raise a monster. How can I raise a dog when I still have some growing to do? Recklessly, your mother and I picked you up and took you to your new home without a clue in the world. Just to prove how unfit we were, we didn’t even have dog dishes, food or toys for you and so we had to stop by Wal-Mart at 12:00 am Midnight. We even had to use socks as your temporary toy balls.
Image
Our time together has changed me and made me into a better person. I look wake in the morning thinking, “What can we do today?” Constantly, you’re always in my mind as if you’re the air that I need to breathe. The joys that your mother and I get from seeing you happy. If I’m doing something fun, I make sure I split half with you so we’re both tired in the end.Image

Image

Though we may not speak the same language, I can understand you fully. I can sleep through a storm but awake to your call without hesitation. I can tell when you’re scared of new things but know that I’m there with you every step of the way. You may be a protection dog but as the leader, it is my duty to protect everyone in our family but know that you may help if needed.

ImageThe best things I love about you is your loyalty and awareness. If mother isn’t around, you’ll stay close to me or vice versa. If left at home, you’ll stay in the same spot, waiting until we get home and greet us with a wet tongue and tail whips. We’ve had our hard times but you’ve always helped us get through with your sense of optimism. It’s as if you’re saying, “Don’t be depressed. All you need is a treat! Life is better with a treat!” My Abby, it pains me to even think that in 10 to 15 years, I’ll be without you so I will do all I can to make the best of our time together. I just want to say, thank you for all of your love and loyalty as your bothersome routines are very joyful and welcoming.

With love,
Your father
14 thoughts on “Dedication

  1. what a beautiful letter! Incidentally, your Abby looks a lot like my Chun Sa (now in heaven) looked like – have a most wonderful time with her, every second of it – they are worth everything! 🙂 and good luck!

    1. Thanks! Chun Sa seemed like a great dog. I loved the story of the dryer. Too cute. Yes, time is definitely too short with our companions but they are well worth it.

  2. I love this. I hope my bond with Alfie can grow into something like this. He’s still getting used to his new home (it’s only been 3 days) but I can tell he’s a good boy already.

  3. What a perfect way to sum up how a relationship between a dog and owner. The way it should be. Enjoy many happy years together and learn all Abby has to teach you.

Leave a Reply

